Homestead exemptions provide a significant reduction in annual property taxes and are available to individuals who own and reside in a home as their primary residence.

Please visit your county website to obtain directions on how to file homestead exemption. Some documents required for filing may include: the recorded warranty deed, the HUD-1 settlement statement, a utility bill, driver’s license and car tag information.

You can file for homestead any time before the due date to get the exemption for that year. Most counties require that the homeowner own the property as of January 1st to qualify for that year. If the property is located within the city limits, you may be required to file with the city as well.

The deadline for filing an application for homestead exemption is April 1st 2016.

 County websites for most of the Atlanta metropolitan area:

Barrow County –

Bartow County –

Carroll County –

Cherokee County –

Clayton County –

Cobb County –

Coweta County –

Dekalb County –

Douglas County –

Fayette County –

Forsyth County –

Fulton County –

Glenn County –

Gwinnett County –

Hall County –

Henry County –

Paulding County –

Rockdale County –\

Walton County –